Political and Administrative Structure

The District has a council comprising of 24 members including the executive committee headed by the District Chair Person. It also has 3 committees and secretaries. There are 9 Local Councils III, at sub-county level, 2 town councils, 53 parish councils and 294 villages. The head of civil service is the Chief Administrative Officer. There are 11 heads of departments, sub sector heads and other members of staff at the District level. At sub county level there are sub county chiefs, sub accountants, extension staff and parish chiefs who assist in the implementation of central and local government policies and programs.